Building an Online Presence

Now that I have plunged into the world of indie publishing I keep being reminded of the importance of building a platform. What is a platform? Ha, don’t ask me. However, as I see it, it is an online presence ie getting myself out there.

With that in mind, I have joined the hoards of individuals and business on Twitter. It is a confusing party for people like me. I did learn that I follow and hopefully, others follow me. I prefer hanging around with authors whose writing is similar to mine although I do like to peek into books of other genres. We write short, 140 characters or less, posts about anything we want and if we like a tweet, we retweet followers’ tweets. I’m getting there but as with the blog, Amazon Author PageFacebook, Goodreads and whatever else I’ve signed up to, it’s a long journey.

But it’s not all work. I have found people I like to call my ether friends on my travels. They live all over the world and I am privileged to see their writing, reviewing, hints on self-publishing and even better, their countries and cities.

I’m also giving my time to writing new stories and editing finished books. These things have to take priority or I will go more insane than I am now.

If you see me out and about across the web please say hello.

About dalefurse

Children and YA author known to branch out into other fiction genres.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Building an Online Presence

  1. Diane Burton says:

    Hi, Dale. You’re doing a good job with social media.
    From your ether friend in Michigan, USA

Leave a Reply

