Author Interview

I was tagged for this interview by Author, Poet and Artist, Rosa Christian http://2creativelyescape.wordpress.com/ and for some reason never got around to posting it so I thought it would be perfect for my first post of 2013.

What is the working title of your book?

Curse of Wexkia is now published.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The basis of the idea is from one of my many childhood fantasies. I loved daydreaming about other worlds and that I was really an alien. I still smile at some of them and cringe at others, especially the ones that took me over more than I should have let them.

I’ll tell you about one the times.

When I was about ten or eleven, I was so caught up with the thought that I could fly, I actually jumped out of a window. It was quite high but not high enough to hurt me much physically. The bushes I fell in helped too. My mum wasn’t impressed with me that day and my siblings still laugh at me when the incident is brought up at family gatherings.

What genre does your book fall under?

Young Adult: Science Fiction/Fantasy

I added the Fantasy genre so readers didn’t think they were in for a heavy SciFi read. I don’t let supposed science facts get in the way of the story.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I’d leave that to the casting people – but –

NellSaoirse Ronan has starred in Atonement, Hanna and the upcoming 2013 release of The Host among others.

Sam –  Adam James is an Australian county music singer and I think he could act too.

Cay-mekaElle Fanning played the younger version of Dakota Fanning in I am Sam and Taken. She was also in The Door in the Floor and I think she would make a great Cay-meka.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

When a girl learns she is a throwback from an ancient, brutal race, she must risk death to prove she is not a threat to the peoples of the known universe.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

After some near encounters with publishers, I decided, like many authors today, to self-publish.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m a little embarrassed to admit, it took me over ten years but, in my defense, I had never written a book to ‘the end’ before and I did a lot of changing, deleting, rewriting in the latter part of those ten years.

It’s funny how actually finishing my first book I was then able to write the other two in the Wexkia series, and quite a few others, much more quickly. I completed one first draft in a month, and yes, for those who are familiar with NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) it was November 2007.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

That’s a hard one. I think if readers enjoyed stories like Harry Potter and A Wrinkle in Time they would also enjoy Curse of Wexkia.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I guess my childhood did.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I loved revisiting my childhood as I wrote this book and although I didn’t write many words a day the story bubbled in my mind every waking minute and I’m sure, a lot of sleeping ones. It’s an adventure any reader can join in. Pure escapism. That is what I look for in a good story and that is why my favourite genre to read is Fantasy. As the authors who I would have tagged have already been tagged, I’ll choose a few websites of authors you might find interesting.

Trudi Canavan

Traci van Wagoner

Diane Burton

Piotr Mierzejewski 

About dalefurse

Children and YA author known to branch out into other fiction genres.
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Curse of Wexkia, eBooks, Fantasy, interviews, Science Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Author Interview

  1. Rebecca says:

    Very much looking forward to reading The Curse of Wexkia!

  2. Pingback: What’s Going on with the Charlie Bone/Harry Potter rewrite? « FanFiction Fridays

  3. carolewyer says:

    Lovely to meet you. I’m a bit late to come by from Indies Unlimited but hey, I made it!
    I was mad about flying too. I used to dream all the time that I could fly. I jumped out of my bedroom window and went crashing through a plastic screen where I hung for half an hour while neighbours had to rescue me.
    I don’t write fantasy though. Maybe I should try humorous fantasy and see how that works!
    Your book looks great and I enjoyed the interview too. Always nice to find out more about authors.

  4. Jo-Anne Teal says:

    Hi Dale, thanks so much for your comments on my blog. I wish you much success with ‘Curse of Wexkia’! I have yet to finish a full length novel though I have one plotted and started. Mostly flash and short stories for me.

    I look forward to reading more of your blog. Always enjoy an author’s perspective when reading reviews and interviews.

    Lovely to meet you. :))

    • dalefurse says:

      Lovely to meet you too.

      Shorts are fun to write and I’m glad to hear you started writing a novel. I find if I write a small amount each day I usually finish with a large bit. It’s hard to stop when you get into your made-up world.

      Good luck and keep writing.

Leave a Reply

