Finding my Hottest Writing Aspect

With our house in the building stage, I still have to wait for my writing lair to be finished but I’ve set up my desk, computers and notes where my room will be already. The thing is, where I thought I’d get right into my hot writing zone is a cool, not freezing cold, but cool place.

My view is too calming.

I have my desk facing a wall of windows and I find myself staring out at our lovely property and daydreaming where I lose track of time.

That’s when I go to places I’ve never been before and where I’m someone else. While I’m there I discover who that person really is and I see wondrous sights, meet amazing peoples from all over the universe and sometimes, from deep beneath the Earth and eat foods, drink drinks I can’t even pronounce the names of. And don’t forget the adventures I take, sometimes too eagerly, and yes, sometimes they’re more like misadventures. The aromas of all those things are hard to describe when I have nothing I can compare with.

Uh oh, there I go again. I can’t even write a blog post without gazing out there. No, don’t look, Dale. There, that’s better—now.

I think it’s time to change my writing aspect. I will turn this desk around and face a blank wall. Oh, I’ll put my photos of my journey on it, some snippets of conversation and such and all the other stuff I use to keep my memories in order but that is all—nothing else.

Now, you might be thinking that my present work-space sounds perfect for a writer to write, but it isn’t. It’s a cool place, a relaxing place, a place where I go one all sorts of journeys and I’d like to tell you about them, I really would, but I can only write one story at a time.

In the past I have tried to keep up with my daydreaming but I’ve found that if I let myself go there, to those places, before I finish one escapade, I’m starting a new one. I begin to get the names of my friends, enemies, mountains, rivers, cities, worlds, everything, confused. I sometimes forget what a person, alien, monster, etc., looks like. The next thing I know, I’m pouring over scribbled notes, mostly unintelligible, from all the stories and mixing them up too.

No. It’s better that I be determined to concentrate on one story at a time and the only way to do that is stare at the wall.

But be assured, when I finish the one I’m telling you about at the moment, I will spin my chair around and go to that place. I will live a red-hot story with my new friends.

Hmm, I must remember to pack my camera.

About dalefurse

Children and YA author known to branch out into other fiction genres.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Fantasy, World building, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Finding my Hottest Writing Aspect

  1. Diane Burton says:

    Great post, Dale. Daydreaming is wonderful…if you aren’t under deadline. LOL

  2. I’m sitting here staring at a curtain. No view here 😉 Too distracting. It has to be all business when I sit at my desk, or else the daydreams always get the best of me too.

  3. jkmikals says:

    Great post, Dale. Enjoyed it.

  4. It sounds like you have an amazing imagination Dale. I too like staring at a wall while I write.

Leave a Reply

