Writers Don’t Write Stories —

— we grow them.

My banana tree died and it struck me that gardening and writing are much the same.

Gardening and writing start with an amendable plot in the perfect setting, working with strong plants/characters and using the right mix of sunshine, water and manure/fortune, fun and calamities.

When tending my garden, I do reap the rewards, but sometimes I produce slow deaths or instant destruction. The same happens when I write. Therefore, I work at cultivating my stories and my gardens.

Both activities can be wonderful or painful, but I am always optimistic that every plant and story I grow improves on the last.

About dalefurse

Children and YA author known to branch out into other fiction genres.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Writers Don’t Write Stories —

  1. Diane Burton says:

    What an interesting comparison, Dale. I never thought of writing that way.

  2. rosepoetartist says:

    Nice analogue. Hope your garden looks better than mine at the moment, Had a few spots last night though, so things might improve soon.

    • dalefurse says:

      Thanks, Rose. Nup, way too dry and not enough water but maybe we’ll get some today. I hope you got some early this morning. Looked like it on the satellite.

  3. Lois Browne says:

    Interesting analogy, Dale. I’m looking forward to reading more.
    (I found you via Indies Unlimited.)

  4. Hi from the IU blogfest, Dale. Great analogy. 🙂

  5. Mel Parish says:

    Great post. Since we moved into an apartment, my gardening has been limited to potted plants. Can’t say I’m sorry as I seemed to spend more time trying to keep the weeds at bay than growing anything – in writing terms it was like having to write the first chapter over and over again and never being able to make any further progress! I finally had to admit I was never meant to be a gardener but at least it gave me more time to write!

  6. S.A. Molteni says:

    Very good analogy, Dale. Just stopped in to take a look around and say hello from the IU blog-fest. Nice blog 🙂

  7. I never thought of writing from that angle, Dale. When it comes to gardening, I like to conquer the elements and grow things where they wouldn’t normally thrive.

    I’m here via the Indies Unlimited Blog Fest.

    Nice blog!

  8. dvberkom says:

    Hi Dale, Totally agree. I also love writing and gardening and can kill a plant or plot at 60 paces…

  9. RJ Crayton says:

    Thoughtful comparison there. I’ve never had a garden, but I could see how writing could be like one.

  10. Stopping by from Indies Unlimited. Great analogy and quite a positive way to think about writing.

  11. lisaday12 says:

    OH dear, I hope not -they call me ‘Dead Thumb’ when it comes to gardening..Then again :)..
    Stopped by per IU

  12. I have been working on my novel part-time for 7 years and I’m hoping it’s not a slow death I’m producing! Plants, however, I tend to kill rather quickly…

Leave a Reply

