On a Pale Horse by Piers Anthony – Review

My reviews are not professional reviews. They are here to let you know what I liked. I doubt I will post a review of a book or story I didn’t like because I try not read those.

Book description of On a Pale Horse by Piers Anthony from Goodreads:

When Zane shot Death, he learned, too late, that he would have to assume his place, speeding over the world riding his pale horse, and ending the lives of others. Sooner than he would have thought possible, Zane found himself being drawn to Satan’s plot.

On a Pale Horse (Incarnations of Immortality, #1)

Already the Prince of Evil was forging a trap in which Zane must act to destroy Luna, the woman he loved…unless he could discover the only way out….
The first novel of the INCARNATIONS OF IMMORATLITY series.

What I thought:

My husband and I first read On a Pale Horse, oh, I don’t know how many years ago. My niece had borrowed it from the school library and she’s now married with a child so it was a while ago. Some years later, one of us remembered it and we’ve been trying to find it since then. We could only remember that it was about Death and other incarnations of immortality, not the title or the author. The only suggestions we got from family and friends was Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, yes, Death was in Mort, but we knew that wasn’t it. Therefore, with son sleuth on his fablet, we finally found it, waited for the paperback to arrive, and finally, read it again. That was a strangely long intro, wasn’t it?

I, for one, wasn’t disappointed; it was as a good a read as the first time.

The main character, Zane isn’t a character I could like at first, but when he shoots Death, also known as Thanatos, thereby taking Death’s place in the world, he becomes extremely likable. He is Death with a conscience. His empathy with mortals gets him into trouble more than once.

The other incarnations – Fate, Time, Mars and Nature turn up from time to time and they don’t mind using their powers if it suits them. I’m saving my opinions on them until I’ve met them. Satan, on the other hand, is well Satan, the Father of Lies and you’d think that anyone would be a fool to trust him, but he is a master of deceit too and even Death can be manipulated.

I don’t like spoilers so I won’t say too much except, I loved Mortis in all his guises, especially as Death’s pale horse.

If you like a fun read like I do you will love On a Pale Horse. Even if you too had read it years ago, I think you’ll still enjoy spending time in Piers Anthony’s world of incarnations. Five stars.

You can buy it for yourself and/or a gift on Amazon.com HERE

About dalefurse

Children and YA author known to branch out into other fiction genres.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On a Pale Horse by Piers Anthony – Review

  1. Sounds fun! And I love me some Piers Anthony, so I’ll definitely be checking this out 🙂

  2. Rebecca says:

    That sounds very good!

  3. Johnc496 says:

    I do agree with all the ideas you have introduced for your post. They are really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very brief for newbies. May you please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post. eebfddcgdeae

  4. rosepoetartist says:

    this is one of my all time favourite books. The memory of it has stayed with me over many years and each time I read it I love it more. There is always something new to find.

Leave a Reply

