Now Publishing…

Editors cost a lot, and I mean a lot, of money because I always strive to have my work edited more than a couple of times. Although, I’ve found that no matter how many different editors a writer enlists, the last one will have as much to say as the first one so I do need to draw a line somewhere I think.

So, with no budget left after said edits, I needed to go further down the Indie Writer/Publisher highway to publish Secret Book 2 of the Wexkia trilogy and further publications as they are finalised.

And I’ve done it!Secret

I’ve had to embark on a steep learning curve and it just keeps going up and up and up and, oh, never mind.

I am the least tech person in my family, but I have researched, read and made more mistakes than I thought possible. I’ve cried, screamed and cried again, but now that I’ve finally clicked the publish button on Amazon.com, I am proud of myself.

What did I learn? Well my efforts included, but wasn’t limited to, working out, and with, the tax system in the US, CIP Cataloguing (that’s for the libraries), formatting for eBook (I have to admit I did get someone to help me with a bit of that) and the whole publishing on Amazon thing.

Secret will go live on Amazon Kindle‘s worldwide sites between 12 and 48 hours and it was about 10:00am Thursday 19th December 2013 Queensland Australia Eastern Standard Time (that’s Aussie EST without daylight saving – we don’t need it). If you buy Secret, I would love to hear if there are mistakes. Now that I have control, it/they should be easily fixed. You could also send a message on my Facebook Page. If you haven’t already, you might like to like the page.

It’s not over though. I now need to work out other eReader and print formats. However, today I will celebrate and not dwell on the torture to come.

Having said all that, I actually enjoyed learning new skills, but having said that, if I ever make enough money from this obsessive trait of mine, I will definitely pay professionals to publish my writings. 😀

Whew, now onto to editing Revelation Book 3 of the Wexkia trilogy (title might change).

 

About dalefurse

Children and YA author known to branch out into other fiction genres.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Books, Fantasy, Publishing, Science Fiction, Secret and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Now Publishing…

  1. Good going! Good Luck too! When is the next one?

  2. Michael G says:

    Congratulations Whats next.
    Cheers mg

  3. RJ Crayton says:

    Congratulations! It feels so good when it’s done.

    As a completely unrelated aside, I love the festive feel to your website!

  4. I’m on that same journey Dale, but like you I am learning. It’s been a struggle but I think we shpould both feel proud of our accomplishments. Good luck with the new book.

    • dalefurse says:

      Thanks Yvonne and heaps of luck with your new project. I feel like I’ve dipped my toes in and something grabbed them. Now I can’t withdraw.

      • Yes, the learning never stops. Who says we’re too old? lol It’s still nice to know we’re not doing it alone, though.
        Happy holidays.

      • dalefurse says:

        Lol, I was a bit worried about the too old to learn myth. You’re right, we’re not too old and we don’t have to do it alone when there are so many great indies out there who share their experiences and expertise.

  5. Well done you, Love the cover! You busy little bee you. I am proud of your publishing efforts, especially since I get to pick your brain for helpful hints when my turn comes. Congratulations! Rosa.

Leave a Reply

