Who’s the Writer here?

I am a writer and I love listening to how other people talk and what they say.

However, my immediate family members find what I have to say and how I say it funny. I’m no comedian, but apparently, I make them laugh, or maybe groan is a more appropriate word. Or I get the drawn out, ‘Oh, Mum.’

Two of said family members have decided to keep notes on the things I say. Um, I keep notes on what people say. I know I have a habit of speaking without thinking, but I don’t think what I say is exceptionally funny or warrants repeating. Actually, I believe everything I say at the time I say it. Sometimes I fib on purpose, but I always say, ‘Nah, I’m lying.’

I’ve been thinking about that though, what one person finds hilarious, another finds boring or even worse, offensive.  I was going to write another comedy – play, movie or TV sitcom script, I hadn’t made up my mind – but I have this idea of what I think is a funny situation. I have written a comedy one-act play with co-author, Stella McMahon. We thought The Shed was funny and when it was produced, the audience laughed in all the right places. The Shed is about a woman who finds an escaped prisoner hiding in her slob of a husband’s shed. She thinks the escapee is really cute so decides to keep him there.

However, I wonder if it was the other writer’s wit that made that play work. I’ve since written another one-act comedy, Lady Grey, by myself that’s hiding in a file on my computer. It’s about a dead lady. I know, funny, right? I guess I want to write in that genre because I really enjoy watching comedies.

Now I don’t think I know what’s funny. And I don’t know why I laugh at the things people around me don’t and vice versa.

But then again, it might be another fun exercise even if no one see it but me.

Have you ever written something unusual just for kicks and kept it hidden in a file or a drawer?

http://www.townsvillelittletheatre.org.au/2010.html

http://undara.com.au/home/opera-in-the-outback-2010/

About dalefurse

Children and YA author known to branch out into other fiction genres.
This entry was posted in Authors, Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who’s the Writer here?

  1. rosepoetartist says:

    I remember reading that play or parts of it and yes it is funny…but then I am not only your sister but a sister Gemini i.e. totally warped. That said, you will never know what the wider world thinks of it if you don’t put it out there. Contact someone in TLT or Outback Players and ask if you can submit it for consideration. Or you could ppare it right back and enter it in Short and Sweet.

  2. dalefurse says:

    Haha, yeah, warped and weird, lol.
    Hmm, reducing it to ten minutes, could be fun to try. Thanks, Rose. 🙂

Leave a Reply

