Our Country Nirvana – Part 6

Part 6 – Seven Months on …

Tom told me we would be in the caravan for about six weeks … um … that was late July 2012. It is now late February 2013 and we’re still in the caravan. I am positive it is shrinking a bit everyday.

I wrote the below paragraphs early December – never say never.

The caravan is now so close to the house we can walk in and out as we please across the little moat Tom made. That’s made a huge difference.

However, we are a lot closer to moving into our shack. We have an insulated roof, floor and outside walls. Yay! We don’t have a ceiling or inside lining on the walls but hey, who needs inside lining anyway? Tom is happy to move in now. Ah, I’m not budging until we can vermin proof, not just from rodents and the suchlike but from snakes and spiders. They grow them big out here.

Ha! It was so hot I finally took a gigantic swallow and started sleeping in the shack – no screens to keep the monsters out in sight and still without inside lining. Ooh, yeah, scary. But it’s amazing how well we humans adapt. I soon grew comfortable with it and we spend all our time in the house now, although we have to use mozzie repellent, electric and candle, all the time.

It’s summer and at first I actually survived 36 and 37 degrees Celsius with cold showers (I know, I wasted a bit of water) and keeping a face-cloth wet to wipe my face. I had a fan though so that was good. I had air-conditioning at the push of a button in our last home and it was never as hot as here. What a softie I was.

Some days reached 38 degrees Celsius – yuk. Don’t you love it when your mobile phone says 36, feels like 43? Thank you for that bit of information, Mr Mobile. But we knew it was coming. Tom decided he could make a portable air-conditioner himself. He did. Check it out. It really does work. Port air 2

That’s an old filing case our pride of joy is sitting on and I love it. We turn the gene (generator) on, push our cutie wherever we want it, but always close to us, and wait it out. The weather becomes bearable about 5 or 6 in the evening.

I’m not much of a gardener, but with all the rain I had to plant something. I have pretty flowers First garden 1

Some fruit trees – 1 mango, 1 mulberry, 2 custard apples and I had an avocado  and paw paw but they died.

Fruit trees

These are the trees we found when we started mowing our new park area:

Our park 1

We have no idea what they are but they don’t look like gum trees.

I so want a real camera instead of the mobile but I guess we have to remember our priorities. Next? The septic system.

About dalefurse

Children and YA author known to branch out into other fiction genres.
This entry was posted in Country, Nirvana, Non-fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Country Nirvana – Part 6

  1. Diane Burton says:

    Dale, I love hearing about your adventure. You certainly are a pioneer out there.

    • dalefurse says:

      Thanks Diane. Hee, I don’t know about a pioneer but some peoples think we may have gone nuts. Every milestone we achieve gives us so much satisfaction though and we smile heaps more than we used too.

Leave a comment